ESO-CERN-ESA Symposium on Astronomy, Cosmology and Fundamental Physics


ESO-CERN-ESA Symposium on
Astronomy, Cosmology and Fundamental Physics

Garching bei München, Germany

March 4-7, 2002

The connections between Astronomy, Cosmology and Fundamental Physics are well known, and become closer every day. Recent exciting developments in these fields include the structures in the cosmic background radiation, evidence for an accelerating Universe, searches for dark matter candidates, evidence for neutrino oscillations, space experiments on fundamental physics, and discoveries of extrasolar planets. ESO, CERN and ESA are thus involved in scientific endeavours and technologies which overlap considerably. This joint Symposium is the first to be co-organized and co-sponsored by all three organizations.

The symposium is meant to give a broad overview of scientific areas of interest to the communities of the three organizations: current observational cosmology including the microwave background fluctuations and new constraints on the cosmological parameters, searches for dark matter, high energy astrophysics (sources and backgrounds), recent developments and prospects in particle physics, fundamental physics from ground and space, extrasolar planets, and future perspectives at ESO, CERN and ESA.

Symposium Final Programme

Final List of Participants

Final List of Poster Presentations

Local and Practical Information
Detailed information about the Symposium venue, transports, the Munich/Garching area, etc.

Press Event
A Press Conference was held at the Symposium venue from 12:15 - 13:00 h CET on March 7. For further information see the ESO Press Event Page.

Review Speakers
Review speakers include R. Battiston, R. Bender, P. de Bernardis, C. Cesarsky, K. Danzmann, J. Ellis, F. Gianotti, F. Halzen, G. Hasinger, P. Hernandez, L. Krauss, B. Leibundgut, P. Madau, L. Maiani, M. Mayor, Y. Mellier, M. Perryman, A. Pich, R. Raffelt, M. Rees, B. Schutz, D. Southwood, C. Tao, N. Turok, E. van den Heuvel, E. van Dishoeck, M. Vietri, A. Vilenkin, S. Vitale, H. Voelk, A. Watson, L. Woltjer.

Special Lecture
Jean-Claude Carrière gave a special lecture in the evening of Wednesday 6 March, with the title "Time".

Scientific Organizing Committee
R. Battiston (Univ. of Perugia), R. Bender (Univ. of Munich), A. de Rujula (CERN), L. DiLella (CERN), C. Fabjan (CERN), A. Gimenez (ESA), M. Jacob (CERN), F. Pacini (Arcetri), A. Renzini (ESO), P. Shaver (ESO; chair), M. Spiro (Saclay), B. Taylor (ESA), P. van der Kruit (Univ. of Groningen), S. Vitale (Univ. of Trento), S. Volonte (ESA), M. Ward (Univ. of Leicester).

Symposium Secretaries
Christina Stoffer, ESO, and Britt Sjöberg, ST-ECF

Enquires should be directed to


European Southern Observatory
  Tel: (+49 89) 320060
ESO-CERN-ESA Symposium   Fax: (+49 89) 32006480
Karl-Schwarzschild-Str. 2      
D-85748 Garching bei München, Germany   Email:




Send comments to <>
Current as at March 12, 2002