New Dutch Prize for Young Talent in Astronomy

20 maja 2014

A new prize called the De Zeeuw–Van Dishoeck Graduation Prize for Astronomy has been established to encourage young talent in astronomy in the Netherlands. It is named after ESO Director General, Tim De Zeeuw and Ewine van Dishoeck, respectively Professor of Theoretical Astronomy and Professor of Molecular Astrophysics at the University of Leiden.

The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW) officially announced the new prize at its annual meeting on 17 May 2014. The award consists of a certificate and cash prize of 3000 euros and will be awarded annually to the the best masters thesis in the field of astronomy written by a student studying at a Dutch university.

Smart students are the future of our field and we would like to encourage students to conduct independent, innovative research as early as possible,” said Ewine van Dishoeck, who, together with ESO Director General, Tim de Zeeuw, has established this prize.

Tim de Zeeuw emphasises that the combination of scientific research and the formulation of these findings in a clear manner is an important and integral part of the Master of Astronomy degree. He comments, “Those skills are of great benefit to students, whether they want to pursue a career in astronomy or another field outside of science.”

The KHMW, founded in 1752, is the oldest learned society in the Netherlands and aims to advance science and build a bridge between science and society. The De Zeeuw–Van Dishoeck Graduation Prize for Astronomy will be awarded to its first recipient at the end of November 2014.



Richard Hook
ESO, La Silla, Paranal and E-ELT Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 3200 6655
Cell: +49 151 1537 3591
Email: rhook@eso.org

Marieke Baan
Nederlandse Onderzoekschool voor Astronomie (NOVA)
NOVA Informatie Centrum, Amsterdam
Tel: +31(0) 20 5257480
Cell: +31(0) 6 14322627
Email: H.M.Baan@uva.nl

O ogłoszeniu



The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities
The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities