Science at the European ARC

This is a list of the scientific interests of the staff (including ALMA COFUND Fellows and postdocs) associated with the European ARC.

Name Location Email Science or technical interests
Paola Andreani ESO pandrean[at]eso.org Cosmic microwave background, SZ clusters, protoclusters
Adam Avison JBCA aavison[at]jb.man.ac.ukl Massive star formation, masers and interferometry
Miroslav Barta Czech ARC node barta[at]asu.cas.cz Solar MHD: flares and prominences, Solar radio physics, High-performance (parallel) computing
George Bendo JBCA george.bendo[at]manchester.ac.uk Dust and gas-to-dust ratios in nearby galaxies (elliptical, spiral, irregular)
Arek Berlicki Czech ARC node arkadiusz.berlicki[at]asu.cas.cz Solar physics, observations and modelling of solar atmosphere, solar active regions,flares and prominences. Solar radio physics.
Frank Bertoldi German ARC node bertoldi[at]astro.uni-bonn.de High-z galaxies and quasars, sub-millimeter observations, SZ observations of galaxy clusters, PDRs and shocks
Rob Beswick JBCA robert.beswick[at]manchester.ac.uk Extragalactic star-formation (low and high redshift systems), neutral and molecular gas in galaxies, Interferometry techniques
Andy Biggs ESO abiggs[at]eso.org High-redshift star formation, (Strong) gravitational lensing
Matteo Bonato Italian ARC node bonato[at]ra.inaf.it IR and radio galaxy evolution models, Galaxy/AGN (co-)evolution, IR spectroscopy, SED modelling and decomposition.
Abhijeet Borkar Czech ARC node borkar[at]asu.cas.cz Galactic Center environment, radio interferometry, active galactic nuclei and Cosmic Archaeology
Jan Brand Italian ARC node brand[at]ira.inaf.it Physics and chemistry of the galactic ISM; properties of star-forming regions across the Galaxy; circumstellar envelopes; masers, monitoring
Sandra Burkutean Italian ARC node burkutean[at]ira.inaf.it Sunyaev-Zel'dovich effect in galaxy clusters; shocks in the intra-cluster medium; combination of interferometric and bolometric data
Arancha Castro-Carrizo IRAM ccarrizo[at]iram.fr Evolved stars, disk and outflows, physics and chemistry of planetary nebulae. Mm-interferometry techniques and data reduction
Edwige Chapillon IRAM chapillon[at]iram.fr Protoplanetary disks surrounding young low-mass stars, in particular the chemical complexity of these disks
Chian-Chou Chen (TC) ESO ccchen[at]eso.org Galaxy formation and evolution; Submillimeter galaxies; Large-scale structure; FIR/Submillimeter/Millimeter Observational Astronomy.
Yanett Contreras Allegro ycontreras[at]strw.leidenuniv.nl High-mass star formation, cluster formation, molecular clouds and astrochemistry
Maria Diaz Trigo ESO mdiaztri[at]eso.org X-ray binaries, equatorial winds and jets, accretion, black holes and neutron stars, ULXs
Gary Fuller JBCA g.fuller[at]manchester.ac.uk Star formation, Molecular clouds, Astrochemistry
Ciriaco Goddi Allegro C.Goddi[at]astro.ru.nl High-mass star formation, circumstellar disks and outflows, galactic masers, (nearby) SMBHs, molecular spectroscopy, mm/submm/cm interferometric observations, interferometric techniques and VLBI
Frédéric Gueth IRAM gueth[at]iram.fr Star formation, embedded sources, molecular jets and outflows, physics and chemistry of shocks
Daniel Harsono Allegro harson[at]strw.leiden.iniv.nl Disk formation around low-mass stars with observations and modelling
of gas and dust. Multi-dimensional radiative transfer tools. 
Evanthia Hatziminaoglou ESO ehatzimi[at]eso.org Dust in AGN, star formation in AGN, AGN formation and evolution
Michiel Hogerheijde Allegro michiel[at]strw.leidenuniv.nl star formation, protoplanetary disks, comets, radiative transfer
Anthony Holloway JBCA anthony.holloway[at]manchester.ac.uk Active galaxies and High Performance Computing
Liz Humphreys ESO   Evolved stars, high mass star formation, central parsecs of Galaxies, masers
Eelco van Kampen ESO evkampen[at]eso.org Galaxy formation and evolution (at high- and low-redshifts), proto-clusters, galaxy clustering
Sabine Koenig Nordic ARC Node sabine.koenig[at]chalmers.se Molecular gas and dust in starburst galaxies and AGN at low and high redshifts, nearby minor mergers
Baobab Liu ESO hlu[at]eso.org
Star-forming molecular clouds, circumstellar disks, and Sgr A*.
Elisabetta Liuzzo Italian ARC node liuzzo[at]ira.inaf.it High angular resolution analysis of nuclear properties of extragalactic radio-loud AGNs
Ana Lopez Sepulcre IRAM lopez[at]iram.fr Astrochemistry of low- to high-mass star formation
Matthias Maercker Nordic ARC node maercker[st]chalmers.se Evolution of AGB stars; mass-loss; chemistry of circumstellar envelopes, detached shells around carbon stars
Benjamin Magnelli German ARC-node magnelli[at]astro.uni-bonn.de Formation and evolution of high-redshift galaxies; study of mechanisms triggering and regulating their star-formation activities.; infrared/submm/mm observations of dust and molecular gas of high-redshift galaxies
Allison Man ESO allison.man[at]eso.org Star formation in high-z galaxies, galaxy mergers, gravitational lensing
Marcella Massardi Italian ARC node massardi[at]ira.inaf.it Extragalactic radio sources, high-z galaxies & galaxy formation, galaxy clusters and SZ effect, multi-wavelength surveys, instrumental calibration
Luke Maud Allegro maud[at]strw.leidenuniv.nl Massive star formation, specifically the investigation of 'disks' around, and outflows from massive protostars. Interferometric techniques and atmospheric stability.
Thomas Moeller German ARC node moeller[at]ph1.uni-koeln.de Modeling of observing data; development of MAGIX (modeling and error estimates for various codes)
Lydia Moser German ARC Node moser[at]astro.uni-bonn.de Molecular gas in nearby AGN and the Galactic Center 
Stefanie Muehle German ARC node muehle[at]astro.uni-bonn.de Molecular gas in extreme environments; starburst galaxies and AGN; the ISM in the Galactic Centre; masers
Holger Mueller German ARC node hspm[at]ph1.uni-koeln.de Astrochemistry, star-formation, molecules in space; Spectroscopy: rotational, rovibrational, interactions, hyperfine structure, data reliability (in the lab, in astro observations, in databases)
Sebastien Muller Nordic ARC node mullers[at]chalmers.se Molecular gas and dust in nearby galaxies; molecular absorption; circumstellar envelopes around evolved stars
Nataliia Muratova Czech ARC node nataliia.muratova[at]asu.cas.cz Solar radio physics, development of electronics, radio instruments. 
Tom Muxlow JBCA twbm[at]jb.man.ac.uk Extragalactic star-formation - from high redshift systems to SNR evolution in nearby galaxies, Interferometry techniques
Rosita Paladino Italian ARC-node paladino[at]ira.inaf.it Star formation in nearby galaxies, magnetic fields and cosmic rays in the ISM, environmental effects on star formation processes
Dirk Petry ESO dpetry[at]eso.org Blazars, Microquasars, Multi-wavelength campaigns, GRBs, cosmic rays, solar system objects, CASA
Suzanna Randall ESO srandall[at]eso.org asteroseismology, late stages of stellar evolution, Extreme Horizontal Branch stars
Anita Richards JBCA amsr[at]jb.man.ac.uk Masers, mass loss from evolved stars, star and planet formation, interferometry
Kazi Rygl Italian ARC node kazi[at]ira.inaf.it Low- and high-mass star-forming regions, Galactic structure, OB stars, masers, astrometry, combination of Gaia optical astrometry with radio-mm astrometry
Alvaro Sanchez-Monge German ARC node sanchez[at]ph1.uni-koeln.de Massive star formation
Reinhold Schaaf German ARC node rschaaf[at]astro.uni-bonn.de Software development for ARTIST (model library, python interface) and other telescopes (APEX, NANTEN2, CCAT)
Peter Schilke German ARC node schilke[at]ph1.uni-koeln.de Formation of massive stars; formation of molecular clouds; astrochemistry; modeling of observation data
Ivica Skokic Czech ARC node ivica.skokic[at]asu.cas.cz Solar radio physics, XBPs, differential rotation, meteors and meteoroids
Thomas Stanke ESO tstanke[at]eso.org Star formation: low-mass protostars, protostellar outflows, high-mass star formation
Felix Stoehr ESO fstoehr[at]eso.org Galaxy formation, dark matter distribution, dark matter annihilation, data reduction pipelines, archive
Carmen Toribio Allegro node toribio[at]strw.leidenuniv.nl Galaxy formation and evolution; Properties of gas in (nearby) galaxies; Galaxy clusters; Neutral hydrogen and radio recombination lines.
Rein Warmels ESO rwarmels[at]eso.org Gas in galaxies, clusters of galaxies, interferometric techniques
Liu Wenjuan
Czech ARC node wenjuan.liu[at]asu.cas.cz   The evolution of solar flare ribbons and loops using observations from grand based telescopes and satellites and with numerical simulations.
Hsi-Wei Yen ESO hyen[at]eso.org Star formation, protoplanetary disks, gas kinematics/td>
Ka Tat Wong IRAM wong[at]iram.fr Evolved stars. Physics and chemistry of circumstellar envelopes. (Sub)mm and cm interferometric observations and data reduction 
Martin Zwaan ESO mzwaan[at]eso.org

Gas in galaxies at low and high redshifts, intervening absorption lines